Looking for feedback on bootstrap

Topics: Writing themes
Jan 4, 2013 at 9:24 AM
Edited Jan 4, 2013 at 9:24 AM

Hello,

I only discovered bootstrap recently and was impressed by this work.

I looked for Orchard adaptations and it seems that the version of psenechal, Orchard Bootstrap, gest the majority of downloads.

As I am new to Orchard I would appreciate feed-back on this version and more generally to the usage of bootstrap code in Orchard. Pros & Cons. Best practices.

I also found the wrapbootstrap themes, what about them ?

Thanks you for indications

Jan 9, 2013 at 9:47 PM

Hello,

The Orchard Bootstrap theme is a fairly straightforward theme, although I added some things to speed up development with Bootstrap. It has the option of using the pre-compiled .CSS files, or you an use .LESS if you install the DotLess module. This allows you to very quickly change aspects of the theme for the entire site. I added in some additional jQuery scripts that work well with Bootstrap as well as overrode quite a few of the default Orchard view files to work better with Bootstrap.

What I didn't do is apply any custom styling to Bootstrap itself, so out of the box, you'll be working with the default Bootstrap colors and styling. These can easily be overridden by dropping in and referencing a .CSS or .LESS file from Bootswatch: http://bootswatch.com/. That is probably the quickest way to style the Bootstrap theme.

I'm in the process of using 2 templates from WrapBootstrap so far, but neither one is something that could easily be plugged into the Orchard Bootstrap theme. It was far easier to just create new themes based on the downloaded templates. You can see them in action as they're being developed here:

http://raptorconcepts.com
http://nvrflysolo.raptorconcepts.com