What do I need to do to have a paid subscription membership scheme?

Topics: Customizing Orchard, Writing modules
Dec 5, 2012 at 8:24 AM

I am a developer very new to Orchard. Today is my second full day working with it. I would like to create a site where membership is based on a paid subscription. Different prices allow different content access, notifications, etc.

What are the higher level tasks I need to complete to achieve this? So far, I have a Subscriptions module skeleton, which I intend to use for the user to choose a subscription level, and for PayPal and other gateway payments.

Now I need to know:

1. How would I store a user's subscription data and static subscription data, e.g. different levels and pricing etc.

2. How would I integrate my custom roles with the default authorization engine in Orchard.

3. How would I include a mandatory visit to the subscrioption module as part of the new user registration process.

I think with some nice outlines how to achieve these three, I can keep myself busy learning for a good few hours.

Developer
Dec 9, 2012 at 8:28 AM
  1. Using a database is the obvious answer here I guess, but I'm sure you came up with that answer yourself. Please be more specific, so that we can be more specific as well.
  2. By implementing your own Permissions. To see how that works, have a look at the Orchard.Blogs module. Should contain all the samples to get you started with.
  3. I'm not sure what you mean by that, could you elaborate a bit?
Dec 9, 2012 at 8:35 AM

1. Do you mean a DB external to the Orchard DB? I was asking about using the existing Orchard data access components. Would adding a Part to the User content type maybe be a suitable application of Parts here?