Where is Model object documented

Topics: Customizing Orchard, Writing modules, Writing themes
Nov 30, 2012 at 1:14 AM
Edited Nov 30, 2012 at 1:22 AM

I am new to Orchard. The themes that I've looked at all seem to have a lot of references to an object called "Model". For example most versions of content.cshtml seem to have lines like these:

@Display(Model.Content)

This object appears to contain all of the good stuff you need to build a page. What I can't seem to figure out is where it's documented. Help!

Coordinator
Nov 30, 2012 at 5:26 PM

This is a fundamental MVC concept: the views render what's being handed to them through the view Model object. It's not the same object in all views of course, it's whatever the controller or driver prepared for that specific view to render. If you want to track back where the object is defined, you have to find the controller or driver that is responsible for getting this view to render.

Nov 30, 2012 at 10:09 PM

I am familiar with the Model-View-Controller concept, but that's not really the issue at hand.  I don't want to track back to where the Model object is defined... How would someone just trying to edit layout.cshtml even go about doing that anyway? This isn't something you should have to look at the Orchard source code to figure out.  I can't imagine that Orchard's designers intended for one to be a fairly experienced programmer just to do something as basic as creating or modifying a theme.

To be clear, I am aware that this is a dynamic object which can have different properties at different times. However, this is a relatively deterministic context.  Every time Orchard processes layout.cshtml or content.cshtml (for example) the Model object is going to have certain properties.  If it didn't always have the "content" property available, for example, every theme would require a bunch of extra code to test for the existence of any property before using it.