Dynamic JS array built using Projection / Lists

Topics: Customizing Orchard, Writing themes
Nov 26, 2012 at 7:28 AM
Edited Nov 26, 2012 at 7:52 AM

I am really new to Orchard and what I'm attempting to do is create a list from anything that has a very specific Part attached then take a field of that part and display it statically right next to eachother. The reason for this is I have an AJAX driven site that I need to dynamically build a JS structure so the hyperlink anchors can be called and a dynamic content screen can then show the requested content item. When a user adds more content I need that JS structure to be changing with it. So far I've got everything working including partial pages doing some work with the Document and Layout files but trying to dynamically create this array is becoming very difficult since Lists and Projections appear to want to put some form of formatting or a hyperlink with it.

Below is an example of the JS structure I'm attempting to build dynamically by detecting a specific Part in a Content Item.  Each line in this array could be handled with a single field, if necessary on the Part.  Any guidance to what the easiest solution to this fairly trivial problem is is appreciated :)

var page = {
		        "about": { "js": "page-1.js", "html": "Partial/About", "title": "About" },
		        "services": { "js": "page-2.js", "html": "Partial/Services", "title": "Services - Legal Services" },
		        "clients": { "js": "page-3.js", "html": "Partial/Clients", "title": "Clients - Testimonials" },
		        "practice": { "js": "page-4.js", "html": "Partial/Practice", "title": "Practice - Practice Of Law" },
		        "contact": { "js": "page-5.js", "html": "Partial/Contact", "title": "Contact - Get In Touch" }
		    };

Coordinator
Nov 26, 2012 at 8:27 AM

It's not super-clear to me how you are trying to use projections here. Do you have a custom layout outputting JSON?

Nov 26, 2012 at 5:44 PM
Edited Nov 26, 2012 at 5:47 PM