USE instead of MOVE widget to current layer

Topics: General
Oct 20, 2012 at 8:36 AM

Hello everybody.

First, I am new to Orchard.
Second, I have a long expreience in working with other web-based CMS like DNN or TYPO3 e.g.
Third, I was not my choice, that Orchard was chosen.

I am open to new things - sometimes being used to something might stand in the way for improvement.

But there are at least two things in Orchard I really do not understand.
(if the Orchard inventors had in ming to create a CMS with potential to become something relevant)

1. No Treeview of all pages in the Backend, to handle and access pages.
    A standard and a big chance which was not taken.
    Large sites can simply not been handled. Multi-languaged sites? No way to access pages and content quick and easy.

2. Re-usable content (widgets).
    News, same picture headers - just to name some possible contents - can not be reused on different pages.
    The option is missing on the widget page "Use widget on current layer" - ONLY move is given. I am sure I will not agree and understand why the developers and creators of Orchard have not chosen this functionality as ESSENTIAL.

Maybe I have overseen an allready possible way to use both points in Orchard today?
I yes, please help.

I really would appreciate your proposals - if there are possible solitions, as I do not have the choice to change the CMS.

Kind regards and many thanks in advance,
Stefan

PS: Being in the IT since 1989 it is sure understandable that I was really having a hard time to understand Orchard - when I had an easy access where every step was taken naturally way back in 2001, when I first used TYPO3. Still, I am seeing this as a challenge to remain open-minded. But believe me, Orchard is demanding a lot to keep this attitude ^^

Coordinator
Oct 20, 2012 at 8:42 AM