1.5.1 Nav Menus/Sub-menus

Topics: Core, Customizing Orchard, General, Writing themes
Oct 9, 2012 at 1:46 AM

First - I am a designer and am trying really hard to figure out all of the code that makes this work, but please forgive any ignorance of common sense that I convey.

Second - I've searched the discussions and can't find an answer that helps me. Close cousins, but nothing that hits the tags that I need.

So here goes...

I am currently trying to write my own Orchard theme using Bootstrap but I'm getting stuck on the menus. Because this is Bootstrap, I really want to avoid modifying the CSS. Instead, I am trying to modify views to fit Bootstrap's structural needs and class assignments.

The specific issues I am having is in the MenuItem and MenuItemLink views:

Issue #1: It looks like both the root level menu items and the sub-menu items are using the same MenuItemLink shape. When I assign a class in this view, the class is given to all menu items. Is there any easy way to define different views for the different levels? Or perhaps some If statement I could use within the view to distinguish the levels?

Issue #2: The <li> for the root level menu is located in the MenuItem view, and I have easy access to that for adding classes. But I can't find the <li> for the sub-menu items anywhere. I'm thinking that perhaps it is being created by the Html.UnorderedList helper extension. Is there any "easy" way for me to add classes the sub-menu level <li>?

Thanks in advance for any help available.

Developer
Oct 9, 2012 at 2:02 PM

Okay so MenuItems are rendered out using MenuItem.cshtml, what happens is that recursion is used, so this file would drive each level. You could create an Alternate for this file, and then add a class for each level of recursion you are at.

I can try to answer issue 2. So I have taken a look at Html.UnorderedList and it has a nice little overload for you to add classes