Migrating Wordpress blog posts to Orchard

Topics: Administration, General
Sep 30, 2012 at 1:14 PM

Hi,

I'm using Orchard for my website for quite a while now and I'm loving it. On a subdomain of my site (blog.repsaj.nl) I've got a Wordpress installation serving up my blog. I'd really like to migrate those posts to my Orchard installation so I have everything in a single look & feel, as well as in one place when it comes to administrating everything.

But... just moving the posts isn't going to be enough. I don't want to break all the links made to my blog on various forums and stuff like that. So an important requirement is that those links keep working. I'm not sure how Google handles redirects for content; does that affect your page ratings? If not, then a redirect is ok. If so: the content should be served on the same URL's.

Has anyone ever done this? Are there tools available, or do I need to go into both API's and do it myself? I am a decent developer, so I don't expect too much trouble doing it myself; but if I can save myself the time and trouble...

Any help would be appreciated!

Coordinator
Sep 30, 2012 at 6:35 PM

Permanent redirects are perfectly understood by search engines. They are good practice too. You can specify them in web.config, or you can use the URL Rewrite module from Sébastien Ros.

Oct 6, 2012 at 9:51 AM

Hi Bertrand,

Sounds good. So basically I'd have to extract the posts from Wordpress, insert them in orchard and create a redirect for the old Wordpress URL to the new Orchard one. Sounds doable as well! But as Wordpress is PHP based, wouldn't that mean there is no web.config? As there won't be any ASP.NET processing either? On the other hand, after migrating everything there is no need for Wordpress any more, so I could just use an empty virtual directory with just a web.config for the redirects. Thanks, I'll go and try out some stuff.

Coordinator
Oct 10, 2012 at 1:14 AM