Correct way to access a ContentType Field from code?

Topics: Customizing Orchard
Sep 20, 2012 at 5:24 PM
Edited Sep 20, 2012 at 5:25 PM

Hi!

I'm pretty new in Orchard land but I like this CMS already very much - as an Author at least, it's great to see a .NET based CMS with so many extensions and templates available.

As a developer, I'm just started learning but I'm about to pull my hair out because I'm struggling already at things that seem to me like the most basic tasks.

I added a new Field to the HtmlWidget Content Type. It should be a Link because I want to make headers (titles) of HtmlWidgets linkable. For testing purposes, I now use just a simple text field called "TestText" for debugging.

So I edited Widget.Wrapper.cshtml where the Title is rendered to do something with this new field there. I struggled to find good and current doc on how to access fields from code (found a lot about fields that are part of PARTS but not about simple fields I add directly to a ContentType).

Well, after some investigations and debugging it turns out those fields are at runtime part of the ContentPart.

I found out by doing some LINQ like this:

var obj2 = ((Orchard.ContentManagement.ContentItem)Model.ContentItem).Parts.Where(p => p.Fields.Any(f => f.Name == "TestText")).FirstOrDefault();

So a ContentPart was found here and I thought I found the solution. I didn't. The first try, which, by documentation, is rather old syntax from 1.0 days, failed:

var contentPart = ((IContent)Model.ContentItem).As<ContentPart>();
var testText = contentPart.Fields.First(f => f.Name == "TestText").Storage.Get<string>(null);

It crashes and tells me that the sequence contains no elements. I really don't get it because my earlier query indicated clearly that this field is contained in the ContentPart.

Anyway, I tried, according to documentation, the newer syntax:

var testText = Model.ContentItem.ContentPart.TestText.Value;