.Net Version unknown on publish

Topics: General, Troubleshooting
Aug 29, 2012 at 6:41 PM
Edited Aug 29, 2012 at 6:44 PM

I'm new to Orchard, I'm creating a simple site and trying to publish to my GoDaddy ASP.Net 4.0 hosted account.  I'm publishing to a folder marked as an Application root.

Prior to publishing, the compatibility check said that the .Net Version on the host was unknown, but simple HTML publishing passed.  No other checks were displayed.

After the publish, the site gives an internal server error "The page cannot be displayed because an internal server error has occurred." and the site no longer work on my development machine either.

Any ideas what's going on here, or configurations I need to change to get this site to work again?  I'm using Orchard 1.5.1, just installed today.

Love the framework, hope the publishing will work so I can use it.

Forgot to mention that I'm using the FTP deploy method - GoDaddy doesn't support WebDeploy.

Aug 30, 2012 at 12:43 PM

If you download the log files, perhaps they will give you a hint as to what the error exactly is. Could be a database connection failure.

Aug 30, 2012 at 3:02 PM

It looks like there's an issue on the published site with accessing the Markdown.dll file.  GoDaddy provides shared hosting using ASP.Net 4.0, with a Medium Trust setting.  I've got a support ticket into them to see if access this .dll should be allowed - but the server is not currently granting access.  Here's the stack trace (I replaced the full path name with ... :

[UnauthorizedAccessException: Access to the path '...\App_Data\Dependencies\Markdown.dll' is denied.]
   System.IO.__Error.WinIOError(Int32 errorCode, String maybeFullPath) +9722910
   System.IO.File.Delete(String path) +9545728
   Orchard.FileSystems.AppData.AppDataFolder.MakeDestinationFileNameAvailable(String destinationFileName) in c:\Build\Orchard\src\Orchard\FileSystems\AppData\AppDataFolder.cs:79