Is there a way to hide or disable the button object from visibility when a user is assigned a role that does not allow publishing?
From an end-user perspective when a non-publishing content author attempts to click, albeit accidentally, Publish Now the author will lose his/her copy. The Publish Now will not implicitly save the content as a draft but rather will attempt to publish. Thus,
the clicking of the Publish Now will not keep the content that was drafted. This equates to lost time and end-user frustration.
I know they should read and avoid clicking but we are all prone to errors.