A beginners feedback of Orchard 1.5.1

Topics: General, Installing Orchard
Aug 7, 2012 at 1:04 AM
Edited Aug 7, 2012 at 3:37 AM

I setup for this first time recently (Orchard.Web.1.5.1). I’m not experienced enough with the project to contribute by code, but I’d like to use this post to provide constructive feedback from a new user perspective in case my opinions can be of use in fine tuning the experience a little so that it is little easier to get started.

1. Downloading Orchard from the Web Application Gallery or from within WebMatrix installs the 1.4.2 rather than 1.5.1. The announcement on the orchardproject.net home page says otherwise – I found the newer version by going to codeplex, but it was confusing at first because I couldn’t figure out why the new functionality I had just read about wasn’t appearing.
  2.  I found the documentation for upgrading in-place and my upgrade to 1.5.1 went smoothly – it may be too soon but eventually it would be great to be able to upgrade a local Orchard website from within the administrative interface.
  3. Setting up Orchard is straightforward – I would like to suggest that the three recipe options are explained on the setup page though, because as a new user I’d like to some guidance on when to use Default vs Blog or Core.
  4. I noticed that the word Triple was misspelled as Tripel for the three layout sections – obviously not a big deal, but it does negatively impact initial impressions.
  5. I wanted to try the new form features and, from watching the video introducing 1.5 features, it seems that this functionality should be activated out-of-the-box. After posting to the discussion list, I learned that the solution was to install Custom Forms from the Gallery. After getting it installed, the process for implementing forms was straightforward to use – documentation explaining how to install and use custom forms would be helpful.