Dynamically Changing Themes

Topics: Administration, General, Writing themes
Jun 10, 2012 at 11:05 PM

Hi,

I'm fairly new to Orchard although have experience of other CMS systems (DotNetNuke, N2, etc.). I am currently working on a small site and need to dynamically change the theme depending upon what page they are on.

Can someone explain how this is achieved? I'm a little confused about the relationship between Layers, Themes & Zones.

Thanks!

Coordinator
Jun 11, 2012 at 1:01 AM

Implement IThemeSelector

Jun 11, 2012 at 11:12 PM

Thanks! Could you give me a couple more pointers on this please?

I'm aware that I can create a new class that implements ithemeselector which has rules to change the theme. I'm just not sure where it should live in the orchard pipeline.

Thanks

Jun 12, 2012 at 1:50 AM

I always recommend putting your custom code in a module. Technically you can put custom code in a theme (or theme override) but it is hard to keep organized that way. You can use the following link to have Orchard create an empty module:

http://docs.orchardproject.net/Documentation/Command-line-scaffolding

Once you have your empty module, I would create a Services folder and implement IThemeSelector.  If you want an example (or maybe it will work for you as is but I don't think so) there is a module called Vandelay Industries (Bertrand built it - thanks Bertrand) here:

http://gallery.orchardproject.net/List/Modules/Orchard.Module.Vandelay.Industries

Once you have it downloaded, look in Vandelay.Industries.Services.ThemePickerThemeSelector and you will see an implementation of IThemeSelector.

Hope this gets you off and running, if you make the module controllale through the UI upload it on the gallery so everyone can utilize it.

Jun 12, 2012 at 10:35 PM

Thanks jao28! That really helped... I've created a new module and added a class that implements IThemeSelector as you suggested. This class simply forces the theme to be one called "blue". As follows....