need help on basic contentpart binding ?

Topics: General, Writing modules
May 27, 2012 at 1:59 PM

Hi,

I'm new to orchard, MVC and am following http://skywalkersoftwaredevelopment.net/blog/writing-an-orchard-webshop-module-from-scratch-part-8 tutorials which is great. please go easy on me :D

SchemaBuilder.CreateTable("AddressRecord", t => t
                .ContentPartRecord()
                .Column<int>("CustomerId")
                .Column<string>("Type", c => c.WithLength(50))
                );

ContentDefinitionManager.AlterPartDefinition(typeof(AddressPart).Name, p => p
                .Attachable(false)
                .WithField("Name", f => f.OfType(typeof(TextField).Name))
                .WithField("AddressLine1", f => f.OfType(typeof(TextField).Name))
                .WithField("AddressLine2", f => f.OfType(typeof(TextField).Name))
                .WithField("Zipcode", f => f.OfType(typeof(TextField).Name))
                .WithField("City", f => f.OfType(typeof(TextField).Name))
                .WithField("Country", f => f.OfType(typeof(TextField).Name))
                );

why doesn't he create table addressrecord with all fields "name, addr1, addr2, zip, country..."? i just don't understand where these values can store in the database

and how in the world dynamic engine could know where to pick up the above fields and bind to addresspart like the below method ?

private AddressVM MapAddress(AddressPart addressPart) {
            dynamic address = addressPart;
            var addressVM = new AddressVM();

if (addressPart != null)
            {
                addressVM.Name         = address.Name.Value;     << where the value comes from ?
                addressVM.AddressLine1 = address.AddressLine1.Value;
                addressVM.AddressLine2 = address.AddressLine2.Value;
                addressVM.Zipcode      = address.Zipcode.Value;
                addressVM.City         = address.City.Value;