how to set different layouts depending on page

Topics: Customizing Orchard
Apr 1, 2012 at 9:15 PM

I am new to Orchard and I am really loving this great CMS. I have created a custom (derived theme) and it works fine but now I am stuck and do not understanding how to do something. I've read much documentation and online but am still a bit confused.

I would like to have 2 different page layouts. One with 2 columns, 3 columns. Each layout will have some significant differences in the CSS file.

What is the best way for me to tell a page which layout it should be using?

I have looked at alternates but am not 100% sure how to use this or if it would be the right approach. I would prefer to not have to put specific naming conventions in my URLs to tell Orchard which layout to display, but if this can't be avoided then I will work with it.

Coordinator
Apr 2, 2012 at 4:03 AM

This should be what you're looking for: http://gallery.orchardproject.net/List/Modules/Orchard.Module.Downplay.Orchard.LayoutSelector

Apr 2, 2012 at 9:04 PM

thank you Bertrand

Apr 8, 2012 at 7:29 AM

Bertrand, I installed the LayoutSelector as detailed in the instructions from the creator's site but I get the following error and I am not sure why because I also downloaded the LayoutSelector project and referenced the binaries in my project. The owner's project website has no contact information so I am unable to follow this up with him :(

Line 4:      <legend>Location</legend>
Line 5:      <div>@Html.LabelFor(o => o.LayoutName, @T("Layout"))</div>
Line 6:      <div>@Html.DropDownListFor(o => o.LayoutName, Model.AvailableLayouts.Select(c => new SelectListItem() { Text = c, Value = (c=="Default")?"":c }))</div>
Coordinator
Apr 8, 2012 at 7:54 AM

You didn't copy the error, only where it happens. There is a contact form on the gallery to contact module authors.

Apr 9, 2012 at 2:20 AM
Edited Apr 9, 2012 at 2:21 AM