Elastic Header and Footer Override for The Theme Machine

Topics: Customizing Orchard, Writing themes
Feb 27, 2012 at 1:33 PM
Edited Feb 27, 2012 at 1:38 PM

Hi guys,

First of all, thank you for the awesome new CMS. It is exactly what we have been needing for some time now. I am really enjoying learning how to use it!

Ok, so I'm not a total noob, but it's been a while since I had to dive into CSS rules for CMS templates. I would like to have a theme based on The Theme Machine but have stretchy background areas behind the header, navigation and footer. Everything else is fine right where it is with 960px fixed width and centered, including the actual header and footer content and the navigation menu list items. I have been looking around in the documentation and in these forums, but I though I might get some good advice if I simply ask how you make this happen or if you can point me to the CSS elements that I would need to edit or create to achieve this.

Edit: I just realized this Codeplex page has exactly the configuration I am describing if that helps you visualize. :)

Thanks for any help!

Matt R

Coordinator
Feb 28, 2012 at 5:00 AM

I don't understand what you mean by "stretchy background areas".

Feb 28, 2012 at 11:24 AM

I think he wants the width of the header & footer to stretch 100% of the browser window, while the middle of the page stay centered and at a fixed width. 

mrenf, you can do this easily with css. Have you tried taking a look at examples of how this is done with websites where you've seen this type of layout? What part are you having trouble with, the cms/theme stuff, or the css? 

Feb 28, 2012 at 11:51 AM
Edited Feb 28, 2012 at 1:03 PM
TheMonarch wrote:

I think he wants the width of the header & footer to stretch 100% of the browser window, while the middle of the page stay centered and at a fixed width.