Can you update/overwrite existing content by Importing?

Topics: Administration, General, Troubleshooting
Feb 8, 2012 at 10:28 PM

I ran two recipes, and the 2nd one had a content part that was in the 1st recipe too. The 2nd instance is supposed to overwrite the data that the 1st recipe saved for that content item. The content part contains both Identity and Route parts, so I was hoping that would result in the same data being overwritten. However, it created two separate content parts, and one of them ended up with "-2" added to the route slug. 

Just checking to see if i'm doing something wrong, or if there's a way to overwrite existing items via Import process. It would be pretty useful if I could do this because the non-developers on the team I work with like to edit stuff in bulk via apps like Excel, and then hand it off to me to import back into the db. 

Feb 9, 2012 at 2:34 AM

nm, 1st recipe had dupes of the one item i happened to be looking at.

Coordinator
Feb 9, 2012 at 4:04 AM

Yes, if you have your identities done right, importing the same data twice will do an update, not a creation.