Transaction errors

Topics: General, Writing modules
Dec 2, 2011 at 2:58 PM

Hi,

I'm trying to use the module Luxit Redirect that allows one to specify an old-url / new-url value pair to deal with changing URLs in a site. No one seems to have mentioned this problem before on that module. I've tried contacting the owner, but no luck so far.

But I keep getting Transaction errors (Transaction aborted, operation not valid for the state of the transaction, ...). 

What it does is that it tries to match the route with an existing alias, by calling Match(...) (in an IRouteConstraint, ISingletonDependancy class) which relies on a service class (IDependancy) that uses an IRepository to check the existance of the alias in the db.

(hope that made sense)

Anyways, also I'm relatively new to Orchard dev, I can't see why this would trigger such errors... 

Any idea what might be the problem ? I can of course provide additional info ...

Thanks,

Dec 2, 2011 at 4:21 PM

Hi,

This is something I've also wanted to solve for a while, and I finally have a working solution.

I don't know if you've heard talk about the Alias module (it should be part of Orchard 1.4) but it provides a routing engine of aliasing paths to routes. I found it very easy to then create a RedirectionController, then alias old paths to a call to the Redirect action with the new path.

The Transaction errors you're seeing are a problem where the Transaction Scope hasn't yet been created during routing. Because of this all the current routing mechanisms (and Alias also) hold an in-memory singleton map of all the paths.

Alias is at: http://orchardalias.codeplex.com/

Although if you want it to work in 1.3 you'll need this fork: http://orchardalias.codeplex.com/SourceControl/network/Forks/randompete/AutorouteDevelopment

Dec 2, 2011 at 4:35 PM

Thanks I'll look into that on monday.

When you say I have to fork the autoroute development ... I'm not sure what you're talking about