localization translation issue

Topics: Localization, Troubleshooting
Nov 28, 2011 at 5:46 AM

I'm new to the Orchard, I'm trying to understand how localization works in Orchard.  I downloaded French .po zip file and installed it following steps listed in http://docs.orchardproject.net/Documentation/Creating-global-ready-applications.  when I change default culture from dashboard|settings|General, it works fine.  

But, after I changed a .PO file, say orchard.module.po under Modules\Orchard.Blogs\App_Data\Localization\fr-FR folder, when I switch culture from dashboard|settings|General, I don't see my changes.  any idea?

Developer
Nov 28, 2011 at 10:20 AM

Not sure if that's the issue but it seem that if you install a new translation, Orchard will only pick it up if you add the corresponding culture after the translation. So this works:

1. Install French translation.
  2. Add French culture.
  3. Switch to French culture.

But this does nothing:

1. Add French culture.
  2. Install French translation.
  3. Switch to French culture.
Nov 28, 2011 at 5:11 PM

@Piedone, thanks for your info.

I followed the first three steps as you mentioned, which should work.  I tried to use Culture Picker, it looks working fine.  but what I really want to find out is that how to use .PO file to drive rendering page/content in different culture.  I know Orchard uses function T("msgId"), which will look for translation for proper culture in an .PO file.  is there any hands-on tutorial about this matter?

Developer
Nov 28, 2011 at 6:47 PM