insert videos

Topics: General, Troubleshooting
Nov 10, 2011 at 3:49 PM

Hello there! I'm new in Orchard, I'm trying to create my first site with it. I'd like to insert a video in a page but I can't do it. Have I need to take some modules? Which ones? I can upload a .mp4 video in my media folder; how can I see it in my site page?

Thank you for your help

Nov 10, 2011 at 4:07 PM

Yes, you need an additional module to play video. There are a few on the Orchard gallery but the one I've written is MediaGarden, it's a bit more complicated to set up than some but gives you a lot more options (it's designed to handle a lot more than just video). You'll want the latest source code from http://orchardmediagarden.codeplex.com as well as the support modules at http://scienceproject.codeplex.com - if all that's a bit daunting, just go with one of the simpler options ;)

Nov 11, 2011 at 8:46 AM
Edited Nov 11, 2011 at 2:01 PM

Thank you randompete, I've installed MediaGarden, to upload a video I've installed FlowMediaGarden and Mechanics too. After some troubles, now I have my dashboard with the MediaGarden camp. I clicked this camp, I choose the path and the video to upload; after that I 'imported all' from the window that appear under the media selection. Now, how can I add the video to the page? I've tried to add some widgets or add parts to the page but no, my video doesn't exist in the page that I want to see in. Please help me! thank you a lot

Nov 11, 2011 at 12:09 PM

Well, your video now has its own Url - if you want to add body text to that page, you can just add BodyPart to the Video content type in the dashboard - that's the easy way.

If you want to go more complex and you want to attach a video, or even multiple videos, to an existing piece of content, then you need to start using "connectors". There's a basic example here: http://scienceproject.codeplex.com/wikipage?title=Mechanics&referringTitle=Documentation