Querying tables in the Orchard Database

Topics: Customizing Orchard
Oct 18, 2011 at 5:52 PM

I have added some custom tables to my Orchard Database. They are already populated with Data. They are tables copied from an existing non Orchard ecommerce website. I need to Query these tables (which exist in my Orchard DB)

and pull data based on ProductID and other Columns in the table. It seems like the most simple thing to do. I have queried tables in ASP.NET Websites for years. I am new to MVC/NHibernate/Orchard.

Does anyone have any examples or documentation or tutorials on how to simply query tables in the Orchard Database and then display the data on the front end/published page?

Thanks

Oceantrain

Coordinator
Oct 18, 2011 at 6:27 PM
Edited Oct 18, 2011 at 6:27 PM

If it's in the Orchard database, you can grab the nHibernate session by injecting a ISessionLocator and then doing using(var session = _sessionLocator.For(typeof(TheMainTypeForTheQueryButItDoesntReallyMatter))) { ... session.CreateSQLQuery(...) or session.CreateQuery(...) or for r in session.Linq<SomeRecordType> ... }

Oct 18, 2011 at 6:34 PM

Sounds easy enough to me. Now would I put this code in a controller that references my Models? or A Service Class?

Coordinator
Oct 18, 2011 at 6:39 PM

I would definitely put that in a service class: the controller should not be responsible for querying the database.

Oct 19, 2011 at 8:28 PM

Any idea on how to remove the Date/Time stamp that exists on every page I publish? I'm just using the built in Page Content Type.

Oct 19, 2011 at 9:04 PM

Solved. Just Comment out this line in the file Core/Common/Views/Parts.Common.Date.Edit.cshtml:

<fieldset class="createdutc-datetime">   
 @Html.LabelFor(m => DateEditor.CreatedDate, T("Created On"))    
<label class="forpicker" for="@Html.FieldIdFor(m => DateEditor.CreatedDate)">@T("Date")</label>