Orchard CMS 1.2, Visual Studio 2010, SQLServer 2008, FTP Publish

Topics: Installing Orchard
Sep 23, 2011 at 1:41 PM

Hi,

I'm new to Orchard CMS and wondered if anyone can point me in the right direction to get an out of the box Orchard installation working before I even delve into customising it.

Most of the examples and tutorials seem to be using WebMatrix, running Orchard locally and using Windows CE.
I want to use Visual Studio 2010, Sql Server 2008 R2 and host with my website hosting company. I also want to use FileZilla to FTP my Orchard files to my site and not use webdeploy.

I'm using Windows 7 32 bit and Visual Studio 210 for development.

Here are the steps I have completed so far:

1) Read the Orchard documentation with regards to installation.
2) I have downloaded Orchard.Source.1.2.41.zip
3) I have extracted the source files
4) I have navigated to the \src directory and double clicked on the Orchard.sln thus causing my Visual Studio 2010 to be invoked and loaded into the IDE.
5) I then switch the build mode to release.
6) I make sure Orchard.web is set as the startup project
6) I next build the solution
7) I now press F5 to run.
8) The Orchard setup page appears.
9) I entered all the details and chose SQL Server for the database and provide the database connection string to my hosting company (not my local database)
10) After a little wait my new CMS page appears - perfectly!
11) Now I stop running the site by pressing shift+f5
12) Next I Click on the Orchard.Web project.
13) Next I select the Build menu item and choose publish Orchard.web
14) The publish method I set to 'File System' and I choose an output directory.
15) I click the publish button.
16) I open up FileZilla and Ftp all the published files to my hosting provider. (this takes a while as there are lots of files)
17) I go to my domain name and see if it appears : http://www.aceso.co.uk/

However I receive some sort of permissions error message. See below...

Am I missing something?