widgets, .cshtml, and themes

Topics: Customizing Orchard, Writing themes
Aug 19, 2011 at 1:34 AM

I'm brand new to Orchard and to MVC 3, so naturally I've got an issue I can't quite figure out. I've overriden the Search.SearchForm widget in my theme, and have made it look and behave exactly like I want it to look. I can add the widget via the Admin site to a zone, and everything is fine. It looks like it should and behaves like it should.

What I really want to do though, is embed the search form in a specific spot directly in my Layout.cshtml file without having to "enable" it via the Admin site. I know that to make it work, search indexing and Lucene have to be enabled, but assuming that's done, how do I (or can I), in my Layout.cshtml, embed the Search.SearchForm widget as if it were a partial view?

Basically, the code in the Layout.cshtml file is:

<div id="status" class="inherit-bg">
        <div class="page-center">
            <ul id="nav">
                <li><a href=".">Store</a></li>
                <li><a href=".">Bike Shop</a></li>
                <li><a href=".">Train</a></li>
                <li><a href=".">About</a></li>
            </ul>
            CODE TO EMBED WIDGET WOULD BE HERE
        </div>
    </div>
</div> 

Can someone provide some guidance for what seems to be a fairly simple problem? Assuming it's straightforward, I'm just not sure if my problem is with my knowledge of Orchard and its implementation of widgets or if it's due to my lack of knowledge of MVC 3 and using .cshtml files.

Coordinator
Aug 19, 2011 at 4:40 AM

It's quite simple as this specific widget only contains a form to the Search controller. So Add the widget and copy paste the html it generated. Then you can remove it. Also, you can have your Theme to enable specific modules automatically when it's installed. In the Theme.txt file, add a "Dependencies: Orchard.Search, Lucene: line, and it should do it.

Aug 19, 2011 at 4:57 AM