Alternate Widget Wrapper

Topics: Customizing Orchard
Jun 20, 2011 at 12:22 PM

Hello,

There are a few posts on this but I am new to Orchard and am having trouble finding a solution.

I would like to be able to provide an alternate wrapper to widgets, for instance I have implemented a search form in the header which is currently using Widget.Wrapper.cshtml in my current theme, wrapping the form in a section (I edited this for the theme) and applies a heading / footer if required as per the default wrapper.

I have created a Widget-SearchForm.cshtml and have tried to apply control via the placement.info to test if the search form can be removed (only for testing to see if anything happened).

<Place Widget__SearchForm="-" />

This did nothing, presumably because the placement only effects elements in the content zone?

To remove the wrapping HTML I have updated the Widget-SearchForm.cshtml to include an update to the Model

'@{

Model.Wrap = false;

}

@Display(Model.Content)

And updated the Widget.Wrapper.cshtml to check for this and apply unwrapped code.

@if (Model.Wrap != null && Model.Wrap == false)

@Display(Model.Child)
}
else

@tag.StartElement

/** extra display code removed **/
   @Display(Model.Child)

@tag.EndElement
}

Is there a better way of applying a wrapper to a widget without effecting all widgets on site?

Regards.

Coordinator
Jun 21, 2011 at 10:41 PM

Wrappers don't have alternates but it's not quite clear to me why you don't simply alternate the shape itself.

Jun 24, 2011 at 10:59 AM

Do you mean that I would be able to create a shape for a widget (such as the search widget) which would override the default shape and not automatically use the Widget.Wrapper.cshtml?

Whenever I add a widget from the CMS and create a new shape for it the wrapper always seems to be applied.

Regards

Coordinator
Jun 24, 2011 at 7:30 PM