Error trying to install "Vandelay.Classy" module

Topics: Troubleshooting
Jun 17, 2011 at 5:02 PM
Edited Jun 17, 2011 at 5:08 PM

Hi there,
I'm new to Orchard (just installed it this morning) and I just tried to install the "Vandelay.Classy" module by searching for it in the "Gallery" under "Modules" and then clicking "Install". I'm getting the following error however:

Package installation failed.
 There was an error installing the requested package. This can happen if the server does not have write access to the '~/Modules' or '~/Themes' folder of the web site. If the site is running in shared hosted environement,  adding write access to these folders sometimes needs to be done manually through the Hoster control panel. Once Themes and Modules have been installed, it is recommended to remove write access to these folders.
 Input string was not in a correct format.

I assume it's the last line that's causing the problem since security isn't the issue. This is installed on my local machine and I tried giving full security access to "Everyone". The problem persists however. Can anyone assist? If not, all I'm trying to do is find out how to use CSS to style my page content so I can make any tweaks where required. If someone can point me to an article on how to do this it would be appreciated (I was investigating this module to see what it offers in this area). Thanks.
Coordinator
Jun 17, 2011 at 5:13 PM

What happens if you try to install another module?

Jun 17, 2011 at 5:58 PM

Thanks for the response. Should have thought of it myself (too many issues on the go). Am getting the same problem in fact. It can't be a security issue however, as previously noted. Any suggestions? Thanks.

Coordinator
Jun 17, 2011 at 6:00 PM

It can still be a security issue. You might have read only on that directory, or you might have missed something in the security settings, etc.

Jun 17, 2011 at 6:10 PM