Localization and RTL languages

Topics: Localization
Jun 12, 2011 at 5:24 PM
Edited Jun 12, 2011 at 5:25 PM

Hello and greetings to the wonderful Orchard developers and community,

I am new to Orchard and I am amazed by its potential.

I am working on localizing Orchard in Arabic and to be honest, I faced a big problem with the po files that I downloaded from Orchard' site because many strings are being repeated, meaning that I will have to enter the same text over and over and over (or that I am missing something! ;) )

Anyway, my question is not in the localization of Orchard's backend but in how Orchard handles multilingual sites which includes Right to left languages as well as Left to right ones!

When we have a multilingual website where all languages are RTL or LTR then it's easy to have one RTL or LTR theme that will be applied to all languages. But in the case where direction is mixed, there will be a need to change the theme according to the selected language. Is this possible to achieve with the current version of Orchard? And if not, what is the best way to achieve it?

Orchard is also using html.ActionLink in order to render html links. The problem with ActionLink is that it html encodes text and transform all non Latin characters to some unicode representation. So, As I am developing an Arabic website, Orchard will correctly saves the slug but the link to the content item will appear as : %D8%B9%D8%A7%D9%84%D9%85-orchard instead of عالم-orchard (meaning the world of Orchard).

Is there a way to bypass this encoding and render beautiful links without having to change Orchard's files?

Thank you very much for your support.

Jun 13, 2011 at 4:45 AM

To achieve RTL, you would have to build a theme that is designed for it.

As for ActionLink, please file a bug. In the meantime, you can probably pass in a new HtmlString instead of a regular string, to avoid the encoding.

Jun 13, 2011 at 4:55 AM

Hi Bertrand,

thank you for your reply.