Adding Custom Settings - Displaying in Views

Topics: Customizing Orchard, Writing modules
Jun 9, 2011 at 9:15 AM

Hello,

I'm pretty new at Orchard. I just got started digging into code yesterday after reading and researching for about a week. 

I wrote my own module, but I'm having trouble using it. 

Basically I wanted to add some additional settings which I got working (I followed along with the Vandelay.Favicon project) but I'm having trouble accessing these settings from views. 

How would I go about accessing a custom setting that I created? 

To be honest, it seems really complicated to do what I'm trying to do. (PartDriver, PartHandler, Part, PartRecord, ViewModel, EditorTemplate, etc) maybe there's an easier way? (Obviously I know how to hack it up to make it work, but I'm trying to do it the right way for re-usability)

Jun 9, 2011 at 10:12 AM

You haven't said what you're trying to do, so I can't tell you if there's an easier way :)

But yes, building a Content Part does involve a lot of pieces. Piotr Szmyd wrote a nice codegen that will create all those pieces for you: http://www.szmyd.com.pl/blog/new-code-generation-features-for-orchard

On the other hand, depending on what you're trying to do, there might be existing modules that could help.

To access settings, it depends how you defined them - for instance are they global settings, or on the part definition itself? It might help if you show your code.

Jun 9, 2011 at 4:55 PM

Thanks for the response.

What I'm looking to do is add some site wide variables that I feel should be defined in the admin area - Footer Text, Site Tagline, Logo Image, etc.

I want to use the same theme for multiple sites, so editing branding.cshtml or the footer with specific site settings doesn't appeal to me.

As far as showing my code, what's the easiest way to show you my project? It looks just like Vandelay.Favicon minus the FaviconService.cs and FaviconShapes.cs files. 

Jun 9, 2011 at 5:00 PM