Roles on Orchard

Topics: Administration
Jun 7, 2011 at 6:21 PM

Hi.

I am new to Orchard. I wanted to build a webpage that shows a list of elements. The list shown is based on the user's current role(s). Unfortunately, I've never been able to get the user's current group. I'm able to do it in other page through the model. But in my page, the model is not a role type. Is there another way to get the user's associated role(s) when programming in our own module ?

Coordinator
Jun 7, 2011 at 6:30 PM

Hi and welcome.

WorkContext.CurrentUser.As<UserRolesPart>().Roles gives you a list of strings that represent the roles for the current user.

Jun 7, 2011 at 6:48 PM

I tried that but it gives me an error:

The type or namespace name 'Roles' does not exist in the namespace 'Orchard' (are you missing an assembly reference?)

It gives me the same error when whether i put it in a view file or a controller. I don't understand because I specify the namespace given by my intellisence:

WorkContext.CurrentUser.As<Orchard.Roles.Models.

UserRolesPart>().Roles

Coordinator
Jun 7, 2011 at 6:56 PM

You are missing an assembly reference, not a using or a fully-qualified name. You can try to add it to the web.config in your theme.

Jun 7, 2011 at 7:02 PM
Edited Jun 7, 2011 at 7:02 PM

You might see those errors in your views in Visual Studio, but when you run the site it will still be fine.

Jun 7, 2011 at 7:13 PM

How do I do that ?

Coordinator
Jun 7, 2011 at 7:27 PM

how do you do what?

Jun 7, 2011 at 7:27 PM

I do all my modifications with Visual Studio but I run the webstie with webmatrix. And it's still not working.

Coordinator
Jun 7, 2011 at 7:29 PM

Then you might want to add the Orchard.Roles assembly to your web.config.

Jun 7, 2011 at 7:33 PM

Adding the assembly reference to the web.config ? I tried but it didn't seem to work. I added this line: 

add namespace="Orchard.Roles.Models"

It gives me the same error.

Jun 7, 2011 at 7:33 PM
Edited Jun 7, 2011 at 7:34 PM