Content "for members only" ?

Topics: Customizing Orchard
May 23, 2011 at 11:01 PM
Edited May 23, 2011 at 11:04 PM

Hi, I'm new to Orchard and to CMS in general. Will appreciate some help with the following.

I'm setting up a website for a small association. Although some pages are meant for general public (contact, meeting times), there is going to be much more content intended for members only - e.g. meeting minutes, reports, current affairs.

I've found layers but am not sure how this could be used to achive the goal. Obviously I could add some widget on "Authenticated" layer only and then edit this widget, but this seems like a very clumsy solution as such widged is not recognized as "proper" content. Also there does not seem to be a way to add Navigation buttons which would be visible/available only to authenticated users.

I feel I must have missed something obvious, or is such functionality really not implemented?

May 23, 2011 at 11:36 PM

I too would like to know how to set this up.

May 24, 2011 at 11:28 AM

There's some ongoing discussion regarding this :)

See the following thread for some of the latest info: http://orchard.codeplex.com/discussions/246434

In a nutshell the situation is: this feature isn't available in Orchard, and there are certain security issues with layers and widgets, but between myself and Piotr we very nearly have a module that will allow this, and there is a hope (at least from me) of changes being made in Orchard core to better facilitate this scenario. You can also vote up the following workitem which is pretty relevant: http://orchard.codeplex.com/workitem/17667 - although I'm thinking we need a new workitem to cover the security issues Piotr has highlighted.

Developer
May 24, 2011 at 2:18 PM

I've opened a workitem about the security issue: http://orchard.codeplex.com/workitem/17868.