User registration / additional information

Topics: Customizing Orchard, General, Writing modules
May 21, 2011 at 12:26 AM

Hi there,

I'm very new to Orchard but not to asp.net MVC.

I need the user to submit additional information when registering to the site. For example, favorite color, etc... Normally I would store this information in a separate table and link the record with the asp.net userID.

Do I need to create a custom module for this?

I just want to double check that there is no out of the box solution for this, before coding something myself!

Thank you!

Coordinator
May 21, 2011 at 12:32 AM

There are a few user profile modules on the gallery that you might want to try.

May 23, 2011 at 10:47 PM

Made some progress.
I am using the Profile module.
It allows me to extend the 'User' ContentType with additional Parts.

I created a module in which I define a custom Part with the required additional Profile information. 
This is working properly. If for example I add this part to the 'Page' content type I can see/edit my custom Part.
Also if I visit myhost/profile/admin I see my custom part information. (this comes from the profile module).

However, on the Register page only the standard fields are shown.
What I need though is that my custom information must also be filled out when registering on the site.

I am slowly becoming familiar with Orchard but I am the dark regarding how to achieve this?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

thx!

May 24, 2011 at 2:14 PM

I needed something similar for a site I'm building. Unfortunately the Profile module doesn't affect the registration page, and due to various implementation details of registration it'd be hard to achieve this. So the easy thing to do is probably just to direct users to the profile page immediately after they've registered.