Map content part not converted correctly to widget

Topics: Troubleshooting
May 20, 2011 at 6:06 PM

I followed the Orchard documentation article, Writing a content part, followed by Writing a widget, which is supposed to convert the same Map content part created in the former to a widget. The content part in my app behaves as expected, but the widget does not. I am able to include "Map" as a part in my content types. Is the migration the only requirement to "convert" the part to a widget?

public int UpdateFrom1()
{
    // Create a new widget content type with our map
    ContentDefinitionManager.AlterTypeDefinition("MapWidget", cfg => cfg
        .WithPart("MapPart")
        .WithPart("WidgetPart")
        .WithPart("CommonPart")
        .WithSetting("Stereotype", "Widget"));

return 2;
}

I'm still new to Orchard, so I'm not even sure what other widgets/modules I can review to see what else they might be doing? UpdateFrom1 did, in fact, successfully update the Geolocation module. But, when I attempt to add a Map Widget to a zone in any theme, it's not even an option. I even went back and copy+pasted the code snippets to make sure I didn't typo something the first time around. What else am I missing?

Thanks in advance!

Coordinator
May 20, 2011 at 6:11 PM

That should be it. Are you sure that the migration actually ran?

May 20, 2011 at 6:24 PM

I'm pretty sure it did. After the next run, my modules page indicated I needed an update to Map, so I clicked update and and it was successful.

Continuing to follow up, I just tried another update (hopefully that didn't compound this problem) like so:

public int UpdateFrom2()
{
    // Create a new widget content type with our map
    ContentDefinitionManager.AlterTypeDefinition("MapWidget", cfg => cfg
        .WithPart("MapPart")
        .WithPart("WidgetPart")
        .WithPart("CommonPart")
        .WithSetting("Stereotype", "Widget"));

// note the secondary update here that does exactly the same
    return 3;
}