Adding different background image to each page

Topics: Customizing Orchard, General, Writing themes
Apr 29, 2011 at 10:42 PM

Hi everyone,

I’m new to orchard and I would like to get some guidelines from the experts. I would like to apply different background image to each page added to the site. Potentially a way to enable the editor uploads an image when create a page or edit an existing page. This image should be used as background when the page is rendered. I found a way to add a custom image field to a page but not sure how to display it on the page. How can I do this? Please brief it in details.

Thank you in advance.

Apr 30, 2011 at 3:59 PM

Here's how I did it:

1. Install ImageField module from Orchard Gallery

2. Add a Custom Field called BackgroundImage to the Page content type (you can do this thru the Content > Content Types screen in Dashboard)

3. Create a new Content.cshtml file in the ~/Views folder of your theme. The original file to copy from is Orchard.Core/Contents/Views/Content.cshtml. To access your field and set the background image do the following:

@{
    // ... Other code...

// Get BG field from item
    var bgfield = ((Contrib.ImageField.Fields.ImageField)Model.ContentItem.PagePart.BackgroundImage);
    string backgroundImageFileUrl = bgfield==null?"": bgfield.FileName;
}
<article class="channel content-item @contentTypeClassName" @if(!String.IsNullOrWhiteSpace(backgroundImageFileUrl)){<text>style="background-image:url(@backgroundImageFileUrl)"</text>}>

Hope that helps!

Coordinator
Apr 30, 2011 at 4:21 PM

Great, but I would have suggested to override Content-Page.cshtml instead, not to mess up with other content types. But great one, nice.

Apr 30, 2011 at 4:29 PM

Good point; I was already doing it like that in my theme but forgot to mention.

May 1, 2011 at 11:32 AM

Hi,

Thank you for the reply. I try to do exactly as mention above. But I have couple of issues.