Forums Module

Topics: Customizing Orchard
Mar 16, 2011 at 11:14 AM

Hi, does anyone know if there is a forums module available?

Mar 16, 2011 at 1:12 PM

We all are looking forward to it. :-)

Mar 16, 2011 at 6:42 PM

It will be great to have this. I wish I can dev this myself but I am new to the dev game, originally in IT.

Coordinator
Mar 16, 2011 at 6:45 PM

Someone took a spot in the gallery for that but I don't know if they made any progress implementing it.

Mar 16, 2011 at 6:54 PM

Is there no way for at least the Orchard Team to ping the person (since noboy else seems to be able to) since they don't seems to be responding to any inquiries about it?

Coordinator
Mar 16, 2011 at 6:56 PM

I would but I don't see what we could do that you couldn't.

Mar 16, 2011 at 7:58 PM

I can't find anything pertaining to a forum module for Orchard to ping its listed author.

Mar 17, 2011 at 5:27 PM
Edited Mar 17, 2011 at 5:55 PM

Okay, since I am nowhere near what one would call an application developer, I did what i could to get other forum module developers interested in wrapping up a module for Orchard. Bertrand, it may help if you get in touch with them to perhaps guide them on how best to achieve this. Here is the thread where I invited them with the idea, it is an ASP.NET MVC2-based forum, so it should not be hard to get it into MVC3; http://nearforums.codeplex.com/discussions/250046

I think it is a great way to also help development for Orchard; if you can contribute code, do so, and if you can contribute initiative by getting developers who otherwise do not know the need, do so, there are just more than one way to support a cause. When i find a need I will also invite other developers at meetups that I know as I also continue to learn how to develop myself. Basically, simply spread the word. Cheers.

Mar 18, 2011 at 4:41 PM
Edited Mar 18, 2011 at 5:04 PM

I started working on a forum... I have it to the stage from memory that I can do the following: