Integrating FacebookConnect with the existing user login

Feb 7, 2011 at 2:32 AM

Hi there all. Thanks for helping me advance.

I am currently working on a FacebookConnect Module that integrates facebookConnect with the existing user login provided by OrchardCMS. It is part of my school project and we have not been taught about this.
I am also kinda new to C# and the new @Razor Engine and i am lost on how to start :(
Basically the scenario below will explain how my module is to work.

Scenario

Users comes across the site i am running. They want to login to use my advanced features in my site.

User A has an existing facebook account and so he uses his facebook account to connect with my website.
When doing so, she/he automatically becomes a member with "Contributor Role" within my CMS.
He/She also has the permissions like viewing the dashboard and also creating posts in my blog with the CMS.

User B doesn't have a facebook account, therefore he registers an account provided by Orchard CMS.
He/She has the permissions like viewing the dashboard and also creating posts in my blog with the CMS.

I am very lost and i would be really thankful if the orchard community can help me with the coding part as i am also running out of time for my project submission.

Thanks alot.

Feb 7, 2011 at 2:43 AM

Are you familiar with the Open Auth Module for Orchard? Take a look at: http://orchardopenauth.codeplex.com/

This is an open source work in progress. It would appear that what they are doing is quite similar to what you want to do.

Feb 7, 2011 at 4:55 AM

@JonnyBoats - Thanks Jonny for the information, but i am not very familiar with the module. I happened to download the source, but i am not able to get it working.

Developer
Feb 7, 2011 at 11:45 AM