Updates on Azure deployment

Jan 20, 2011 at 7:25 AM

Hi,

Your documentation says to delete all the azure databases and azure blob storage when re-deploying to Azure.

Can you please elaborate on what you mean by re-deployment? Because if I need to delete everything every time we upgrade the web site with a new module, a patch or an version update it means that this CMS is useless in production.

Thanks,

Morten

Jan 24, 2011 at 10:55 AM

Hi Morten,

I agree the wording if confusing as well.

As I understand it, the text is only applicable if you are upgrade from an Orchard pre 1.0 package to 1.0.   The plan going forward is that Orchard (and modules) will be able to update the database / blob storage when they are upgraded.  

The above condition was only put in place due to the rapid rate of development (during the pre 1.0 timeframe) making it too difficult to allow for automatic upgrades.

Hope this helps.

 

Cheers

Sam

Jan 24, 2011 at 2:02 PM

Great :)

I assumed that this was the case, but you never know...

 

Morten