News module - How to combine data from default and subtenant

Dec 17, 2010 at 3:16 AM
Edited Jan 6, 2011 at 2:58 AM

Hi,

I am new to Orchard but I have already read all available documentation, also http://www.orchardproject.net/docs/Creating-1-n-and-n-n-relations.ashx

I have to implement News module (very similar to Blog)  which base functionality is to combine data from default tenant and current sub tenant. For example:

I have tenants with host names: news.net (default tenant), city1.news.net (subtenant), city2.news.net (subtenant).

Now default tenant have to contain news about something and each of subtenants has to combine self managed news and news from default tenant.

How Can I achieve this? I assume that I have the same database but with prefixes for each subtenant.

I know that I should create Service but does simple IRepository in subtenant has access only to prefixed tables or to all tables in database?

Can you provide me any advise or/and example?

Regards,
Daniel Skowroński

Coordinator
Dec 17, 2010 at 3:26 AM

Tenants don't share data. To build that kind of model, don't use tenants, but instead do something similar to what blogs are doing and isolate them by container and manage yourself who can modify what using custom permissions.

Dec 17, 2010 at 1:58 PM
Edited Dec 17, 2010 at 4:24 PM

Bertrand,

Thank you for your answer, but I don't agree with you as a result that you don't have full view of the story, it is more complicated that may sounds.

And yes I totally agree with you that if our only requirement would be to create content similar to blog but categorized by city it could be done by permissions, but please read user story:

Project that I am currently working on is a social network for small cities and villages. Core functionalities requires that each city that is connected to the network has possibility to create they own site in the system.