An expression tree may not contain a dynamic operation

Nov 8, 2010 at 9:53 PM

Hi,

Great work by the way, looking to get involved :)

Looking at Orchard as a software developer I thought I would write a module, so I have followed the "Writing a content part" tutorial that was recently updated for 0.8.  I added the new Maps feature to the Page Content Type, however when I go to edit the page I get a compilation error "CS1963: An expression tree may not contain a dynamic operation".  It points to line 7 in ..\Maps\Views\EditorTemplates\Parts\Map.cshtm the line is

@Html.LabelFor(model => model.Latitude)

I can't seem to figure this one out, any ideas? I thought I would download the module from the gallery to check I had followed everything correctly, however that version seems to use a user control instead of a cshtml page.

Thanks,

Jeff

Hi,

Great work by the way, looking to get involved :)

Looking at Orchard as a software developer I thought I would write a module, so I have followed the "Writing a content part" tutorial that was recently updated for 0.8.  I added the new Maps feature to the Page Content Type, however when I go to edit the page I get a compilation error "CS1963: An expression tree may not contain a dynamic operation".  It points to line 7 in ..\Maps\Views\EditorTemplates\Parts\Map.cshtm the line is

@Html.LabelFor(model => model.Latitude)

I can't seem to figure this one out, any ideas? I thought I would download the module from the gallery to check I had followed everything correctly, however that version seems to use a user control instead of a cshtml page.

Thanks,

Jeff
Coordinator
Nov 8, 2010 at 10:10 PM

Yes, that's a limitation of C#4 that can't use Lambdas with dynamic objects. You need to choose between using a strongly typed view model like lots of editor views are still doing, or use shapes. If you use shapes, you'll need to use the non-strongly-typed overloads of the Html helpers, or shape templates, or shape methods for rendering.